Introduce yourself

Whether you are new to the Dask community or are among the first commiters to the project, this thread is an opportunity to say hi and tell us a bit about yourself.

:wave: I’m Jacob, I’m a Dask maintainer and I work for NVIDIA. I primarily focus on deployment libraries including distributed, dask-kubernetes, dask-cloudprovider, etc but you’ll find me around on most Dask projects on GitHub.

3 Likes

Hi! I’m Pavithra, I work at Coiled as an Evangelist. :wave:

2 Likes

Hi Everyone!

I’ve worked on Dask for a few years now. I’m excited to see you all!

4 Likes

:wave: Hi all! I’m Ian, I wrote the bulk of dask-labextension and you’ll see me around various places in the Dask project. I’m a software engineer at Coiled, a some-time Jupyter developer, and an enthusiast of cities and rocks.

2 Likes

Hi everyone! I’m Genevieve.

I’m a maintainer for dask-image and napari. I’m a scientist and do a lot of image analysis.

I’ve also been working way more on Dask this year, funded by an essential open source software grant from CZI.

2 Likes

Hi y’all I’m Naty and I worked at Coiled as an OSS engineer on Dask.

2 Likes

Hi all, I’m Doug – I work for Anaconda as an open source engineer, spending a good bit of time in the Dask universe.

2 Likes

I’m Florian, Dask maintainer at Coiled.

In the past I’ve been a pretty heavy user of the dask.dataframe API and used it for heavy ETL jobs on Parquet Datasets. That led my down the path of fixing dask in very deep and dark places. Now, working for Coiled, I’m trying to shed some light on these places. You’ll find me mostly tinkering around the dask.distributed scheduler :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi everyone! I help maintain Dask and am looking forward to trying this Discourse out

2 Likes

Hi all!