Using Dask with ITK

Hello all,

I hope my question in this category is ok. I am pretty new to dask and wanted to see if it is possible to combine ITK with it.
I read on the previous release candidate post of ITK that ITK images should be compatible with dask. Still, I wanted to hear from the experts here first if it would be reasonable to venture deeper into making dask with ITK work (maybe converting them somehow into dask-arrays and storing the metadata separately?), especially for writing single volumes in multiple processes and the same for resampling images. I am not sure if I grasped the proposed compatibility correctly.

I already found the blog post from back in 2019, but using the filter, there is not translatable to resampling or writing an image.

Again, I hope this question is appropriate, and someone can give me a hint or more information.

Hi @Keyn34, welcome to this forum.

Unfortunately, I’m not sure there has been significant work on Dask side on ITK compatibility since the blog post you mentioned. And I have not been able to find actual documentation on ITK side about what changed in 5.3 RC4 version that may have improved it (Maybe extended support for Numpy Arrays?).

I’m clearly not an expert in image processing and ITK. I think the best would be to post in their forum and ask more there (you already posted one thread I see).

Could you at least explain a bit more operations you want to perform, and what would you need to be able to execute them with Dask?

1 Like

Hello @guillaumeeb,

Thank you for the welcome and your response.

So, in a nutshell, when working with medical images (especially images of the whole human body), the images get pretty large. My idea was to speed up multiple processes with dask.

For example, I tried to read two images in parallel, resample them and write them back to disk. The code below should explain what I’m doing, which works well:

# This is needed as a code guard
if __name__ == '__main__':