Image Segmentation Using Large Dask Array

I am relatively new to dask trying to perform threshold based image segmentation on a large (~100gb) dask array which i create from a zarr store and am struggling to debug it. I start a distributed client on a local cluster w/ 1.5TB of memory and have been relying on the dashboard to monitor the progress made. It seems a lot of time is spent transferring data, and I have found there are also periods of time (around 10 mins) in which seemingly no progress is made. Eventually the memory blows up and crashes.

I also frequently get the warning:

Event loop was unresponsive in Worker for 3.14s. This is often caused by long-running GIL-holding > functions or moving large chunks of data. This can cause timeouts and instability

Which I believe is associated with the data transfer issue. I am wondering how to improve the performance of my code if doing so is possible. Here is the jist of my algorithm.

I use dask.image functions when possible for filtering along with some scipy functions when there was not dask support. Pandas is used to wrap the results and allow for analysis later on. When I run this with a smaller array and no client it finishes w/o issue and in a reasonable time, so it is like my misuse of dask.distributed causing the issue

Hi @walterjw, welcome to Dask discourse forum!

It’spretty hard to look at your code in this form: an image is not ideal, and there is a lot of content in it! Could you try to simplify your code and provide a minimal reproducer of your issue?

If not, I would advise you to try to split up a bit your code to identify in which part the problem could be.

Thanks for the reply! I have not yet been able to create a minimal reproducer, but I have started to split everything into steps to see what works. The following snippet runs and completes as expected

dask.config.set({'distributed.admin.tick.limit': '180s'})
    from dask.distributed import Client, LocalCluster