Specifying resources for client.map causes no task submission

Hey, there. I am new to Dask, but successfully set up dask/dask on a kubernetes cluster with helm.

I have been running into an issue where workers die when I apply client.map(f, files). The files are large (about 1gb) and the function f loads and pushes to some zarr store.

I watch the dashboard and notice that when len(files) grows, the number of tasks per worker increases, memory approaches the limit specified in values.yaml resources for helm install, the worker dies and things fail out.

So, I thought it might be a good idea to specify resources for a task with something like:

futures = client.map(f, files, resources={'MEMORY': 2e9})

but the tasks never submits and the dashboard recognizes no new tasks. Am I missing something?

How does dask know to stop submitting tasks to workers if it will cause a worker to use more memory than allows? Is this a nuance of client.map? Should I use dask.delayed or client.submit instead?

I can avoid this by running submit and get over batches to make sure no worker gets more than k tasks, but I feel like I am inventing the wheel hereā€¦

Hi @ljstrnadiii, welcome! Do you have any screenshots of the dashboard while you run out of memory? Iā€™m wondering if there is a leak somewhere which is causing memory to accumulate rather than being freed. If you run a single task with client.submit to you see the memory spike and then go back down after the task is done? The distributed scheduler should be able to identify the amount of memory that each task takes and take that into account when scheduling them, but it seems that isnā€™t happening properly here.