Memory accumulation using client.map - how can I avoid this?

Hi, I am a new dask user, so I wanted to post to this forum to see if anyone with more experience may be able to tell me if I am missing something here. This is my first time posting in a forum like this, so any suggestions are appreciated.

Dask version: 2022.2.0
netcdf4 version: 1.5.6
numpy version: 1.20.3

Task: Take a satellite image for a large domain and split it up into small images that I like to call patches. These patches are saved in netcdfs and additional data is added to them. This is run on a lot of images- I am using dask to run things in parallel to keep the computational time down.

Issue: When I run my existing code I have set client = Client(n_workers=8, threads_per_worker=1, memory_limit='5GB') The memory on the workers themselves is reasonable for my task (< 1GB), but the main program memory (local memory?) climbs. It does not climb significantly, but for a large amount of iterations, this ends up making a difference. It climbs from about 1 GB to over 3+ GB. This ends up causing the workers to fail because they combine the local memory with their memory to reach the 5 GB limit. It seems like the workers or futures are saving something to the local memory, and I can not seem to stop it from accumulating.

What I have tried: Agressively delete variables. Implement a client.restart() and then delete variables. Neither of these work.