Need help with efficient parallelization [local machine]

Hello,
I’m just getting started with Dask and am running into troubles trying to make parallelization improve my efficiency.

In short, my observations so far are that:

• When using Dask in a testing, low-data environment, there is tremendous overhead making it about 15x slower than just using pandas.
  • When attempting to step up to a slightly higher-data (but still not huge) environment, I get a warning about large data size and performance goes very poorly.

Some specifics about my specific goals:
I have a process called run_trial() that gets run about 500-1500 times in a given routine.
In a low-data environment (working with a table of 20000 rows), pandas takes about 20 seconds to do 500 of these run_trial() calls.

The time required is roughly linear in length of data. At 100,000 rows, pandas takes about 70 seconds to do 500 calls to run_trial().

I thought this might be a good place to use Dask, but in a low_data environment my efforts at parallelization are performing very poorly. It is taking something like 250 seconds to make 500 calls to run_trial().
And when I step up to just 100,000 rows I get a warning about the size of memory in the execution graph, and performance is very poor.

Here is the code I’m trying to use to parallelize:

def traverse_features(self, indexes_to_test, bundle_provider):
        cohorts = []
        temp_cohorts = []
        for idx in indexes_to_test:
            trials = bundle_provider.get_bundle(new_indexes=[idx])
            for trial in trials:
                this_result = delayed(self.run_trial)(trial, idx)
                temp_cohorts.append(this_result)
            if len(temp_cohorts) > 30:  # Trying to prevent too many tasks scheduled at once.
                cohorts.extend(list(compute(*temp_cohorts)))
                temp_cohorts = []
        cohorts.extend(list(compute(*temp_cohorts)))
        joint = pd.concat(cohorts, axis=0)
        return joint