Dask parallelist vs C++ parallelism: Shared memory?

Hi,

I am new to Dask and I would like to understand something before committing to it.

Context: I am the developer of a python based software called GridCal that deals with power systems simulation and optimization. Some of those topics may benefit greatly of parallelism. However in pure python, whenever you create a new thread you are essentially cloning the python interpreter.

Example: Say that I have in memory 10 GB of power system data that I want to simulate in chunks. I know that each simulation “chunk” takes 1GB.

In C++ due to shared-memory parallelism, if I run 5 concurrent chunks, the total memory usage is 10 GB + 5 x 1 GB = 15 GB. This is very nice for same-machine parallelism.

In python, the same process, due the inability to use shared-memory parallelism (thanks to the GIL), the total memory usage for the same example wold be 5 x (10 + 1) GB = 55 GB

Is parallelism with Dask the same as Python?

This is ok if I run the tasks in separated machines.

Thanks

Hi @SanPen, welcome to Dask Discourse forum!

A first disclaimer, I’m not a true expert in Python memory handling and GIL.

But I’m not sure I understand what you are saying:

Here for example, what are these 5 x 1 GB memory? If the data is already in memory, why each threads needs another GB? Is this output data?

So I guess what you mean is that in order to avoid the GIL, you need to use multiprocessing, so in this case, you have to duplicate some things in memory.

Depending on your code, you might be able to bypass the GIL, and use multithreading or concurrency efficiently in Python.

I’m not sure why you need to duplicate all the input data though, cannot you just read a part of it in each process? Or you need the full 10GB to produce 1GB result each time?

Well yes, Dask is a pure Python library, so Python limitations apply.

Hi @guillaumeeb, I assume that the confusion comes from the following;