Dask cluster raises issues about GIL on a horizontally scaled setup

I am new to dask and dask’s whole ecosystem and so it is possible

that I did not understand the difference between dask, dask-jobqueue

and dask-distributed or might be getting lost in the jargon of the

ecosystem.

I have a bit of code setup as follows

import dask

from dask import delayed

delayed_results = [delayed(my_module.my_function)(ref_series=ref_series,input=input_item,output_dir=output_path,remove=False) for input_item in input_file_list]

# ref_series is a constant object

# input_item is an iterable

# output_path is a constant:str

# remove is a boolean

pbs_client.upload_file("my_module.py")

pbs_client.scatter(ref_series) # given that it is a constant object it felt appropriate to give it to all the workers

dask.compute(*delayed_results)

Something of note is that the function does not return anything and just writes output directly to file.