Use dask to run many simulations with external tool in parallel in chunks

Hi,

I am very new to dask and used tools like scoop for simple sampling or for optimization with deap before.

With the setup I could run easily multiple CFD simulations in parallel (on one node with predefined number of cores and also distributed over multiple cores with predefined number of cores on each one of them; this was without anything like slurm).

These simulations were created step by step, which means, that when I defined to run 4 cases in parallel, 4 cases were created in 4 different files. And when the simulation was done, the next 4 were copied and started afterwards.

Now I would like to switch from e.g. scoop to dask and have at the moment the current setup. The function with does all the work like creating new cases with own directories is basically included in run_SIM.callSIM_script:

import dask
from distributed import LocalCluster
from dask.distributed import Client

# ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
import run_SIM
import pandas as pd

# ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
lazy_results = []

# ==============================================================================
def evaluate(x):
    parameterName = [  'divScheme_Val', 'nPhi_Val', 'nTheta_Val', 'nCell_Val']

y = run_SIM.callSIM_script(x, parameterName )
    return y

# ==============================================================================
if __name__ == "__main__":
    # ..............................................................................
    cluster = LocalCluster(n_workers=4, threads_per_worker=10)
    client = Client(cluster, asynchronous=True)

param = pd.read_csv("parameter_v2.csv")
    param = param.dropna(axis=1)
    print (param.head())
    # param = param.transpose()
    paramlist = param.values

# ..............................................................................