'Could not serialize object of type HighLevelGraph'

Hi everyone,

I’m encountering an error in my Python code and could use some assistance. I’m getting the following TypeError: ‘Could not serialize object of type HighLevelGraph’, '<ToPickle: HighLevelGraph with 10000 layers.\n<dask.highlevelgraph.HighLevelGraph object.

Any insights or suggestions on how to address this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Hi @avocadola, welcome to Dask community!

Could you provide some reproducer showing how you get this error?

Maybe it’s because your graph is too big, a HighLevelGraph with 10000 layers seems huge.

Thank you very much for your response. I am new to Dask and parallel computing so my approach maybe wrong.

My goal is to speed this for loop:
brier_scores_list = [train_and_score(i) for i in range(X_train_cudf.shape[1])]

Notes:
I am using a single gpu

This is my first approach and the error message I got with this approach:

dask.config.set(scheduler='processes', serialization='pickle')

cluster = LocalCUDACluster(CUDA_VISIBLE_DEVICES="0")
client = Client(cluster)

# Generate sample data

X, y = make_classification(n_samples=500, n_features=10000, n_classes=2, random_state=42)

# Split the data into train and test sets
X_train, X_test, y_train, y_test = train_test_split(X, y, test_size=0.2, random_state=42)

# Convert to Dask cuDF DataFrame/Series
X_train_dask_cudf = dask_cudf.from_cudf(X_train_cudf, npartitions=20).persist(optimize_graph=True)
X_test_dask_cudf = dask_cudf.from_cudf(X_test_cudf, npartitions=20).persist(optimize_graph=True)
y_train_dask_cudf = dask_cudf.from_cudf(y_train_cudf, npartitions=20).persist(optimize_graph=True)
y_test_dask_cudf = dask_cudf.from_cudf(y_test_cudf, npartitions=20).persist(optimize_graph=True)

def train_and_score(index, X_train, X_test, y_train, y_test):
    X_train_single_feature = X_train.iloc[:, index:index+1]  
    X_test_single_feature = X_test.iloc[:, index:index+1]

# Initialize and train the model