Client not starting and hangs after setting temporary directory in dask config

Hello,

I’m pretty new to dask. I’m working with an insanely large dataset (with lots of texts). I need to manipulate the text and when I launch the process, it goes to such an extent that I get a warning that /tmp is full and dask cannot spill over. After searching around, I found out that I can set the dask worker space to a custom directory using dask.config.set(temporary_directory=/path/to/custom/dir). My scratch space is much bigger than /tmp so I created a folder there and set the temporary directory to that. However, now, the client is not starting and just hangs. Specifically, client = Client(n_workers=32) just hangs. A new folder called dask-worker-space is created in my custom location. How do I rectify this?

Thanks.

Hi @sudarshan85, welcome to this forum!

I’m not able to reproduce your problem. Using the following call on my local laptop:

import dask
from dask.distributed import Client
dask.config.set(temporary_directory='/home/guillaume/dask_tmp')
client = Client(n_workers=32)
future = client.submit(lambda x: x+1, 10)
future.result()

works just fine.

This is what you expect, this folder is used by workers to spill over.

By reading this, I imagine you’re on some kind of HPC cluster? On those, the shared space might be not the best place to use for worker spilling, as it is often a shared file system, which can be inefficient for lots of small IOs. In your case, it might not work for file locking, and that could be the problem?

Anyway, I think the best way to go would be to address the problem your stating in the first place:

Spilling is bad in general, you want to avoid this. Depending on your workflow, Dask should be able to stream over your data to avoid loading it all at once. Could you share an example of your code so that we see if we can optimize it?

Thank you for your reply. Let me give a summary of my task which might help answer some questions.