Scale>1 fails: "shut down workers that don't have promised keys"

Hi All,
I am new to dask, but I am getting the hang of it and I plan to continue to use it. I am using async SLURMCluster and I am experimenting with the adapt option. Everything works fine when I am using a single worker. However, when the scaling kicks in, it always fails with:

shut down workers that don't have promised keys and also distributed.scheduler.KilledWorker: ('build_multipolygon_from_raster_window-fdbad344-2072-4428-b0d5-561366e4e6e4', <WorkerState 'tcp://128.239.57.11:43980', name: SLURMCluster-0-4, ...

Anyone can chime in on why my workflow works for a single node but crashes when I request scaling > 1 or adapt maximum > 2 ?

Hi,

You tripped a failsafe in the cluster coherence checks. It’s something that should never happen.
Could you come up with a minimal reproducer and open a ticket on Issues · dask/distributed · GitHub?

Thanks

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your reply!

I will try to see what exact conditions if any makes this problem reproducible. This is unfortunately not the only issue I’ve run into with dask, so I am slightly overwhelmed with trying to figure out how to make it work. I did however start some discussion in this GitHub link. It may be the wrong place to post the ideas, but to be honest it’s a lot to digest for me at the moment. It looks like Dask is promising, but it might not support the full range of my needs, or I may just not know sufficiently about it.

Any advice on how to proceed will be greatly appreciated!

Hi @jreniel,

There’s a lot of questions in your post and GitHub link, I’ll try to give some answers.

First: do not use adapt mode unless you know perfectly what you’re doing. It’s a Wow effect feature, but it’s often not useful an complicates things.

But it seems by your GitHub comment (probably not at the right place) that you experience issues also by only using scaling.