Processing a large number of compressed files

Hi, I’m new to Dask and am wondering if there is a better way to handle my use case.

I have a large number of compressed (gz) files that I need to download from an S3 bucket. Each file holds up to 5 GB of data in JSON lines format (one JSON-formatted object per line).

My current approach is (omitting parts of the code not involved in file processing):

import dask
import dask.bag as db
from dask.distributed import Client

for i, file in enumerate(filenames):

# download and extract the file
    unzipped_filename = dask.compute(download_file(file, path))[0]

# process the file
    b = (
        db.read_text(unzipped_filename, blocksize=block_size)
        .map_partitions(processor.process_partition)
        .compute()
    )
    del b

# remove local file
    os.remove(unzipped_filename)

The download_file method gets the current file from S3 and decompresses it into a text file. I have a class (processor) that contains a method (process_partition) that works on partitions of the current file. It performs some data cleanup, reformatting, and insertion into a database.

Overall, this works, but I suspect I could be doing things more efficiently. One issue I’m getting is a lot of warnings about “full garbage collections” taking around 12-15% of CPU time. I found a few mentions of this issue in other posts, and have tried changing the block_size to no avail.

I would hugely appreciate any recommendations on how to make better use of distributed processing. Thank you!

Hi @argonaut76, welcome to Dask community!

If the file downloading takes much shorter time than the file processing itself, and if you have enough partitions to distribute the process over all you resources, then I think this approach is fine.