Most efficient way to implement custom functions on a column(like .mean())

Hello all,
I wanted to ask that what is the most efficient method of writing a custom function which does some job on a column in a distributed system. For eg: Suppose I wanted to compute sum of squares of all elements of a dataframe(assuming all elements are integers). Then is this piece of code time efficient enough?

suppose 10 workers

df = dd.read_csv(“data/**/*.csv”)
df = df.persist()
col_sums = [0]
for col in df.colums:

tdf = df[col].apply(lambda x: x*x)
col_sums.append(tdf.sum())

sum = sum(col_sums)
print(sum.compute())

Please point out any mistakes or any better way. I doubt that this is the most efficient method, maybe something related to futures might be actually do distributed computing. Please if you have some any other method then reply to this post. I am new to distributed dask, so I am a bit overwhelmed with all of the properties of dask which it offers and cant understand what piece of code would reduce the latency the most.
Sorry but this might be a very trivial doubt, but I was not able to figure out the best way for distributed system even after reading the documentation several times. Thanks for your help.

Hi! I am definitely not an expert in Dask, I just wanted to help as much as I can since noone has offered any help for some days now.

From what I understand, this apply function will be automatically run in parallel, so something like the following will be close to optimal:

sum(df.col.apply(lambda x: x**2).compute())

Again, not an expert, but I am pretty sure that the above is more or less what you’re looking for. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@akshatarun Welcome to Discourse!

Thanks for the answer, @giorgostheo, that’s exactly right!

Here’s an example task graph that shows each column in each partition being computed in parallel:

import dask
import dask.dataframe as dd

ddf = dd.DataFrame.from_dict(
    {
        "x": range(10),
        "y": range(10),
    },