Error when using custom function

Hey there,

I’m new to dask and I’ve run into a situation. I’ve adapted an anisotropic diffusion filter for smoothing CT images. And when runing it using map_block and compute it, I do not get the dask to concatenate the output.

Workflow

I have a list of unit8 png’s which reside on my disk. I load them delayed like this:

filenames = sorted(glob("path/to/*.png"), key=alphanumeric_key)

sample = imageio.v3.imread(filenames[0], mode='L')

# Use a faster reader and parallelize the reading
lazy_arrays = db.from_sequence(filenames).map(lambda x: imageio.v3.imread(x, mode='L')).compute()

# Convert to Dask arrays and stack
dask_arrays = [da.from_array(arr, chunks=sample.shape) for arr in lazy_arrays]
stack = da.stack(dask_arrays, axis=0)

The function I used is an adaption of the code of awangenh github code. when using it on a single image it works very well and as expected. I’ve adatpted the code to work with the rapids library (cupy) .

Custom function

import cucim.skimage.util as csku
import cupy as cp

def anisodiff_gpu2(img, niter=1, kappa=50, gamma=0.1, step=(1.,1.), option=1):

if img.ndim == 3:
        #warnings.warn("Only grayscale images allowed, converting to 2D matrix")
        img = img[0,:,:]

img = csku.img_as_float(img)
    imgout = img.copy()

deltaS = cp.zeros_like(imgout)
    deltaE = deltaS.copy()
    gS = cp.ones_like(imgout)
    gE = gS.copy()

for _ in range(niter):
        deltaS[:-1,: ] = cp.diff(imgout,axis=0)
        deltaE[: ,:-1] = cp.diff(imgout,axis=1)

if option == 1:
            gS, gE = cp.exp(-(deltaS/kappa)**2.)/step[0], cp.exp(-(deltaE/kappa)**2.)/step[1]
        elif option == 2:
            gS, gE = 1./(1.+(deltaS/kappa)**2.)/step[0], 1./(1.+(deltaE/kappa)**2.)/step[1]

NS, EW = gS*deltaS, gE*deltaE
        NS[1:,:] -= deltaS[:-1,:]
        EW[:,1:] -= deltaE[:,:-1]

imgout += gamma*(NS+EW)

return cp.asarray(imgout)

Computing

I define a function which is operating on my blocks