Deploying Dask with AKS

I admit I’m very new to Dask and don’t fully understand all the nuances. That being said, I’ve been tasked with using Dask on AKS with an orchestration tool called Prefect. Right now I’m just trying to connect to and spin up a Dask cluster and perform a simple operation like scale it up. I’ve installed the operator using helm as per the website and am running a simple python script to run the Dask scaling task:

from dask_kubernetes.operator import KubeCluster
cluster = KubeCluster(name='testcluster')
cluster.scale(2)
cluster.close()

When I run the script I get a 401 Unauthorized error. I assume the Kubernetes service account that is running the Dask task doesn’t have permissions but I don’t know how to troubleshoot this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

If you’re seeing the 401 at this point my guess is that you don’t have permission to create the custom resources that dask-kubernetes uses. Rather than the controller not having enough permissions.

I think the next troubleshooting step would be to try and create a cluster with kubectl instead of the Python API.

https://kubernetes.dask.org/en/latest/operator_resources.html#daskcluster

I was able to successfully deploy a Dask cluster using kubectl with the example manifest in the link you provided. If it makes a difference, the AKS cluster was created with AAD authentication. I don’t think that should matter if I’m running the python script locally though since I’m already connected to the kubernetes cluster.

How does it connect through the Python API? Does it leverage the local kubeconfig? What’s different about creating the cluster via kubectl versus through the Python API?

Ok great.