AttributeError: 'DataFrame' object has no attribute 'repartition'

Hey I am a bit new to dask so apologies if its a very basic question. I have been trying parallelize my workflow which goes along the lines of read in a big dataset → filter it → convert a few columns to tensors. While trying to use dask dataframes to filter, I found there was no way to use .iloc to filter for the rows. Instead I tried to use repartition, but when I call .compute() later on, it returns this error which is completely baffling me.

Here’s the code for reference:

MAX_LEN = 300
users = df_clean.userID.unique().compute()
paths = []
labels = []
@dask.delayed(nout=2)
def get_paths(df, user):
    temp = df.loc[df.userID == user]
    npart = round(len(temp)/MAX_LEN)
    if npart == 0:
        return (temp.questionID.values, temp.result.values)
    else:
        parted_df = temp.repartition(npartitions=npart)
        return (parted_df.partitions[0].questionID.values,
                parted_df.partitions[0].result.values)
@dask.delayed
def convert_to_tensor(x):
    return torch.tensor(x)

for user in tqdm(users):
    path, label = get_paths(df_clean, user)
    paths.append(convert_to_tensor(path))
    labels.append(convert_to_tensor(label))

Any help or even feedback about using dask in this way would be appreciated

EDIT: Error occurs when I call dask.compute(*paths)

@ribhu97 Welcome to discourse, and thanks for your question!

I’m still trying to reproduce this error, and it’ll be really helpful if could share the complete error message/traceback and maybe create a minimal, verifyable example using some toy data like:

df = pd.DataFrame({'userID': ['1', '2', '3'], 'questionID': ['a', 'b', 'c'], 'result': ['99', '98', '97']})
ddf = dd.from_pandas(df, npartitions=2)

In general, I think you may find this blog post on filtering Dask DataFrames interesting.