All Dask workers but one are idle most of the time

In my data anlysis experiments i am using Dask library distributed scheduler and futures. It involves doing large scale data analysis loading, preprocessing and creating a Neo4j Graph database in a Google cloud single instance. But after a few hours while all my workers are working in full scale the go to a idle state except one worker that is working in 100 % of its cpu capacity. Then after a 30 minutes idle state some workers begins to work for a minute or so and returns to a idle state again. Why are the others workers idle? Are the doing Garbage collection Cycles? Are they waiting for any dependencies to finish? I am new to Dask library and i can not figure out what is happening. I use mostly futures in my python code!!! Can anyone give me a hint for what is happening? Thanks in advance for your time.

@kostas_vavouris Welcome to Discourse and thanks for your question!

That’s odd indeed. We’d need more details about your Dask workflow to diagnose this because a lot of things can cause this behavior. Would you be able to share a minimal, reproducible example as well as the Dask+Python version you’re running?

Generally though, maybe some topic in these best practices can help, especially the dashboard to monitor worker memory?

Hi there,